learn_logo.giflgRIU6-logo.jpg

LEARN Elementary Technology Academy
November 12, 2009

Cool Tools for Primary Teachers
Participants:
Please enter your information below. Don't forget to SAVE when you are finished!



Name
School/Organization
Title/Position
email
Christine Carucci
IU#5
Supervisor: Training and Consultation
christine_carucci@iu5.org
Nicole Hill
DuBois Middle School
Professional Development/Communications Teacher
nhill@dasd.k12.pa.us
Sara Haines
Brookville Area School
5th Grade Teacher
shaines@basd.us
Rhonda Shook
CL Elementary
First Grade Teacher
rshook@clasd.net
Roxane Lewis
Redbank Valley
Third Grade Teacher
rlewis@redbankvalley.net
Melinda Burton
Redbank Valley School District
Elementary Technology (K-6)
mburton@redbankvalley.net
Linda Barnes
Brookville Area School District
6th grade teacher
lbarnes@basd.us
Kristin Huffman
Redbank Valley
1st Grade Teacher
khuffman@redbankvalley.net
Jane Watson
Hasson Heights
Oil City
5th Grade Teacher
jwatson@mail.ocasd.org
Annette King
Redbank Valley
Second Grade Teacher
aking@redbankvalley.net
Keith Fulmer
Hasson Heights
Oil City
5th Grade Teacher
kfulmer@mail.ocasd.org
Amy Garbacz
Oil City
teacher
agarbacz@mail.ocasd.org
Carrie Richey
OCASD
Media Specialist/Technology Integrator
crichey@mail.ocasd.org
Joe Caffrey
Oakland - OCASD
3rd Grade Teacher
jcaffrey@mail.ocasd.org
Larua Heasley
Redbank Valley
1st Grade Teacher
lheasley@redbankvalley.net
Gretchen Kunselman
Redbank Valley
1st Grade Teacher
gkunselman@redbankvalley.net
Abigail Stafford
IU5
Coordinator for Instructional Technology Support
abigail_stafford@iu5.org
Annette King
Redbank Valley
Second Grade Teacher
aking@redbankvalley.net
Valerie Sloan
Redbank Valley
3rd Grade Teacher
vsloan@redbankvalley.net

computer-animated.gifcomputer-animated.gifcomputer-animated.gifcomputer-animated.gif

http://streaming.discoveryeducation.com/
Curricular Resources Integrate 80,000 concept-level video clips, virtual labs, interactives, audio files, lesson plans. http://www.go2web20.net/
Find all Web 2.0 Tools and Applications on one page, get a short description, compare, read reviews, see what people are saying about each one on the web, see screencasts and more.
www.kindersite.org
The Kindersite has 1,000s of graded educational and fun content specifically for the 2 to 8 year group.
www.teachersfirst.com
TeachersFirst is a rich collection of lessons, units, and web resources designed to save teachers time by delivering just what they need in a practical, user-friendly, and free format.
http://theedublogger.com/check-out-these-class-blogs/
Tips, tricks, ideas and help with using web 2.0 technologies and edublogs
http://www.thinkfinity.org/home.aspx
Verizon Thinkfinity is a Web site created through a partnership between the Verizon Foundation and the nation’s leading educational and literacy organizations that contains tens of thousands of free, standards-based lesson plans and student materials in every core subject area and grade level (K-12) plus adult and family literacy.

www.spellingcity.com Great site to practice spelling words


boyreading.jpgReading

http://www.readingrockets.org/
Reading Rockets offers a wealth of reading strategies, lessons, and activities designed to help young children learn how to read and read better.
http://www.paonebook.org/
Pennsylvania's One Book, Every Young Child program highlights the importance of early literacy development in preschoolers ages 3 to 6.
http://www.clpgh.org/kids/
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh: Kids
https://dibels.uoregon.edu/



counting.jpgMath

http://www.sesamestreet.org/home/?scrollerId=games
Sesame Street uses animation, puppets, and live actors to stimulate young children's minds, improve their letter and word recognition, basic arithmetic, geometric forms and more for grades pre-k - 1.
http://illuminations.nctm.org/
Designed to "illuminate" the new NCTM Principles and Standards for School Mathematics with interactive math tools.
http://www.amathsdictionaryforkids.com/
Animated, interactive math dictionary with definitions of over 600 common math terms in simple language. -Animated & interactive
http://nlvm.usu.edu/
A digital library containing Java applets and activities for K-12 mathematics. Great for interactive whiteboards!



Teachers.jpgProfessional
http://www.pakeys.org/pages/get.aspx?page=home
The Pennsylvania Early Childhood Education Standards are research-based standards that identify key learning areas of development for children and are reflected in the Core Body of Knowledge competencies. Newly updated!
http://www.education.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/pennsylvania_department_of_education/7237
The Pennsylvania Department of Education is pleased to announce that its new Web Site is now available for public use.
http://www.fcrr.org/Curriculum/SCAindex.htm
Student Center Activities from Florida Center of Reading Research. During 2004-2007, a team of teachers at FCRR collected ideas and created Student Center Activities for use in kindergarten through fifth grade classrooms using the 5 Big Components of Reading.


kidsoncomputers.jpgStudent Collaboration

http://etherpad.com/
EtherPad is the only web-based word processor that allows people to work together in really real-time.
http://www.mindmeister.com/
Online Mind Mapping: MindMeister - free web-based collaborative mind mapping tool for brainstorming and project-managment
http://www.mywebspiration.com/
Use Webspiration to map out ideas, organize with outlines and collaborate online with teams or colleagues.



student_computer_small.jpgDigital Storytelling

http://animoto.com/
Narrate your pictures with text to tell a story.
http://4everlearner.pbworks.com/Digital-Story-Telling-at-3csetc
Digital Storytelling resources



smartboard.jpgPresentation

http://www.slideshare.net/
Upload and share your PowerPoint presentations, Word documents and Adobe PDF Portfolios on SlideShare.
http://280slides.com/
Create beautiful presentations, access them from anywhere, and share them with the world.
http://www.empressr.com/Default.aspx Alternative to PowerPoint
Tell your story anyway you like. Add photos, music, video, and audio, and share it publicly or privately in an instant.
http://www.wordle.net/
Wordle is a toy for generating “word clouds” from text that you provide.



wiki_pic.gifWikis

http://iu5slc.wikispaces.com/
http://iu5elemlitcouncil.wikispaces.com/
http://wikisineducation.wetpaint.com/page/How+we+use+wikis+in+class?t=anon wikis in education